NEW to Diagnosis

I'm a Clinical Psychologist that was just diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. I had a HORRIBLE flu in February this year that completely changed my life! I was under extreme stress (special needs stepson in ICU, selling and moving our home, keeping a private practice going, opening a new private practice in a different State, etc...) and was forced to stay in bed for over a week. Anyway, since then I have lost feeling in my feet, tingling in toes, "a feeling of needles stabbing up my feet/legs." Pain in so many places. Itching, hot/cold sensitive, etc.....the lost goes on an on.

I was wondering if anyone knows how to handle the "cognitive fog" and fatigue in the afternoons?? I'm still running a private practice and I worry about being able to give my patients the appropriate care. I just feel soooooo tired in the afternoons and cannot change my schedule to fit my bodies needs. UGH!!!

DocF

Welcome to the board. I think you will find a lot of wonderful people here who have the same struggles. This is a wonderful board.

Can you schedule an our hour our of your schedule to rest? I know that if I rest for about 30 minutes in between activities I can usually keep going but if I have to sit at my desk all day the afternoons are the worst. And unfortunately I've had to resort to coffee.

Gentle Hugs,

Stacey

hi DocF.. I hear ya. sigh. As far as the cognition, the best thing i can suggest it to have lots of notes. I guess it is not abnormal for you to have a chart open in front of you on the person you are speaking with. This may give your brain a 'refresher' when you are with that particular patient to remind you of what they said and are referring to. I hope that helps you some. I know for me i must use many refreshers like notes, calenders and planners. You have had so much to deal with and your stress is sky high. I hope someway you can manage to get adequate sleep several nights a week.. all the best to you.

HUGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGS

Suzie