Head pain and hot spots

They aren’t headaches but sharp head pains that roam around, strike, last for a few minutes and then go away - only to move on to another area. My head becomes very hot to the touch in the spot where the pain is but the rest of my head remains normal temperature. It’s been going on for a couple go years now. Does anyone else deal with this sort of thing?

Hi Pom,

I'm not a Doctor, nor do I have TN, but have a sister in law who suffers this, (as a result of a root canal) so I did a good bit of research on this before even joining Ben's Friends. Here is some info on it, but please, do ask your Doctor about it.

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/trigeminal-neuralgia/DS00446

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=trigeminal+neuralgia&qpvt=t...

I'm so sorry you suffer from this, hope you get some answers and some relief very soon!

Wishing you well,

SK

We have a group that may be of help to you,

http://www.livingwithfibro.org/group/fibroandcranialnervedisorders

SK,

First of all, thank you so much for replying. Secondly, thank you for the link!

I received a clinical DX of TN about 11 yrs ago. At that time it was strictly in my face. I guess it didn’t occur to me that it would be related because - while this hurts and pretty much sucks - it’s not even remotely the same caliber of pain as the TN pain. I suppose it could be the atypical variety though.

Thanks again
Pom

There is also a group entirely dedicated to TN, which is also a Ben's Friends group, you could belong there as well as here on the Fibro site. They have a very large membership, and may be of great help to you!

So sorry you suffer this, it is rated about as high on the medical pain chart as you can get!

Had similar pains from FM, very unpleasant, hope you feel better.

Yes, I get these striking pains.