Emotions/Tolerance

I've noticed lately that I have less tolerance related to emotions. I'm not usually a person easily hurt by unprofessionalism at work, snide remarks or rude comments; but lately I have a very low tolerance for clients, coworkers or anyone that pushes my boundaries. I get more easily angered/sad with people that are rude/disrespectful and I'm a social worker, people are rude/disrespectful or angry a lot of the time. No, I don't lash out at them, but I get grumpy and notice my mood is affected. I have been very exhausted lately and I'm wondering if my exhaustion is directly linked to my tolerance of different behaviors. I can usually just brush it off and move on, but not lately.

For example, today the coffee stand guy who makes the coffee was slightly rude and it affected me. When I say slightly, I mean something that wouldn't normally bother me, did bother me. Why would I care if the coffee guy was rude? I don't know him. Maybe that's a bad example because I know we all expect common customer service.

Have any of you experienced this? It's kind of like being kicked when your already down.

Thanks,

Sara

Hi Sara,

Irritability can be a sign of depression. Not saying that's the case in your situation, but it's something to consider. I have Seasonal Affective Disorder and always get tired and grumpy this time of year,

Also, something as "simple" as sleep deprivation can make you more irritable.

Any new medications? Not something you usually think of, but a lot of drugs come with warnings about "mood changes."

Best of luck,

Liz

Hello Liz,