Disability, Who Has Some Experience To Share?

Hi,

I was diagnosed two years ago, although I am pretty sure it all started in 2009. I quit my job in 2011 because the symptoms were so bad. I was a preschool teacher.

I am just wondering, besides money, what other things have been available to you because of disability? I am hoping to be able to go on disability so I can focus on "getting better". Or at the very least learning how to live with this illness. I really don't want to go on disability, but I think it might be an option to look into. The very first qualification for disability is that I would not be able to do the job I did before. Let me tell you, there is no way that I would every be able to be a teacher again.

If only I could convince myself of this!

I am just wondering what other peoples' experience is.

Thank you! I think I say this every time I add a discussion, or I respond to a discussion, but I really don't know what I would do with out this forum. I love that I am able to find answers and "talk" to people that have a similar situation as me.

Ahhh… Another person from a school… I was a school-based Speech Language Pathologist and can no longer work anywhere due to fibro. I don’t want to believe I can no longer work either. But when I look back over the past two years I realize I’ve missed a great deal of school due to pain, brain fogs… I am coming to terms with this knowledge and am looking into disability retirement through the public school retirement system I’ve paid into for years. So we’ll see.

I too am grateful for this group. I’ve learned so much from all of you! :slight_smile: