Quantcast

Living With Fibromyalgia - Online Support Group

Alone and feeling scared this weekend

Newbie here - I joined about a 2 weeks ago. I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia (and PTSD) about 3 years ago. That’s three years of doctors refusing to accept the diagnosis, insurance challenges, major paycheque challenges, pain, fatigue, and now struggling to work full time. During this time there was also two deaths, which hit me hard: my mother and my ex-husband.

My ex-husband was my best friend. We were married VERY young and for only 2 years, but we had a daughter together, so we decided that we would still be a “family” even though we were divorced. Neither of us remarried, despite divorcing in 1984. Whenever I was in trouble, he would come running and do whatever he could to help. God, I miss him.

I just don’t have anybody like that anymore. And I’m scared right now. I feel really, really alone.

Right now, my biggest fear is money. NOBODY wants to talk about money, it’s just not done in polite society. But this illness has impacted my finances and I’m not sure what I’m going to do.

I’m not looking for financial advice. I’m just wondering if anybody else on the board is unmarried and doesn’t have a partner who will pick up the slack when things go downhill or even just tell you that everything is going to be OK in such a way that you believe them. When there is nobody who truly has your back, what do you do? How do you cope? What gets you through the night and into the next day?

1 Like